Healthy Goji Chocolate Cake

Image

Healthy chocolate cake?! Say what?! “No. You’re kidding me” I hear you say. But no, I assure you I am not. This chocolate cake is free from gluten and refined sugars, and tastes pretty darn good in my opinion! It also boasts an impressive list of nutritious ingredients that will make you feel good after eating it rather than that feeling of “I really shouldn’t have had that”- we all know that one!

Some of these ingredients may be a bit more hard to come by compared to the regular ‘eggs, sugar, butter and flour’ recipes, but if you shop around you should be able to find them soon enough šŸ˜‰

Image

Here’s what you’ll need:

  • 1 cup gluten-free self-raising flour mix (or you can use a plain flour mix and add appropriate quantities of baking powder)
  • 2 eggs (preferably organic)
  • 1/3 cup organic natural yoghurt
  • 3 tablespoons cacao powder
  • 1/2 cup coconut sugar
  • 1/3 cup apricot kernel oil (I haven’t tried substituting this for any other oil, but another oil such as coconut may work just as well)
  • 1/3 cup goji berries
  • 1/4 cup almond meal
  • 1/4 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1/4 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1 or 2 tablespoons of water
  • pinch of salt

Mix all ingredients together. Depending on the consistency of the mixture, you may need to add either 1 or 2 tablespoons of water. This is roughly what the batter should look like before you put it into the tins:

Image

The cake tin I used was 8.5 inches long, 4.5 inches wide and 2.5 inches deep

Bake for 160 degrees Celsius (320 Fahrenheit) for approximately 40 minutes or until a skewer inserted in the middle comes out clean

Okay…now you’re about to be blown away as I unveil the ingredients of the icing. Please, just give this a chance and don’t run away screaming!

Image

Yep…you are seeing correctly- avocado. But trust me, you won’t be able to taste it. All it does (apart from giving you a wonderful dose of nutrients) is add a beautifully rich, ganache-like texture.

Don’t forget, you’ll need to wait until the cake cools before you ice it!

  • 1/2 an avocado
  • 1 medium-sized banana
  • 1 tablespoon cacao powder
  • 1 tablespoon of raw organic honey
  • 1/4 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • pinch of stevia (my stevia has a tiny spoon inside that measures the sweetness of approx. 1 teaspoon of sugar. I just used one of these. A little goes a long way!)
  • Optional: some goji berries for sprinkling on top!

Mix and mash together until well combined. Spread over the cake. Voila! You have healthy chocolate cake! Not so bad after all, is it? Hehe. šŸ˜›

I must admit to being a little over-eager when creating recipes. I don’t usually test them twice; I just write the quantities down as I go along and then get online and post it! So please, if you do try this out and have any comments or suggestions, PLEASE let me know!

Have a happy, healthy day šŸ™‚

Image

12 thoughts on “Healthy Goji Chocolate Cake

  1. Looks good! Or looks like it would taste good anyway! šŸ˜€ But isn’t the coconut sugar still sugar?? :O
    Ever tried xylitol in place of sugar? Tastes great, but not everyone can tolerate it – I can’t.

    • Hey thanks heaps! šŸ™‚ Well, coconut sugar is a kind of sugar, but it is far healthier than regular processed cane sugar. Firstly, it has a GI rating of just 35, compared to 64. Secondly, it is high in many minerals such as potassium, magnesium, zinc, and iron. Of course, having said all that, it IS still sugar so it must be eaten in moderation šŸ˜¦ lol. Yes, I do like xylitol, and I enjoy the Spry gum which it is sweetened with. Unfortunately I found out that I have a food sensitivity to it, so I can’t have too much. *Sadness* Thanks for the tip, I appreciate it! šŸ˜€

  2. Looks so nice and moist. What do goji berries taste like, can you say? I don’t think I’ve ever had them before. Okay, I think I’m going to have to get some cacao powder soon; if I like goji berries I so want to make this!

    • Oh my goodness, thank you! šŸ™‚ Goji berries? Ooh, hard to describe. They have a really unique flavour- not particularly sweet, in fact they’re a little bit tarte, but I’m sure you’ll like them!

  3. Using avocado to make a ganache!…who would-a-thunk it? I guess this recipe would also work with most other berries. Thanks again, Suzie, for a tantalisingly tempting recipe.

    • Hahaha you’re very welcome, Queen Bee! šŸ™‚ Yes, I was very skeptical when I first saw it but it’s actually fine! Hahaha. Hey great idea- I should experiment with other berries and see how it goes!

  4. I haven’t tried this recipe of yours yet, Suzie, but I have been “sperimenting” on some gluten-free baking and have come up with two winners in our household.

    The first is a sugar-free date cake. This recipe uses the natural sweetness of dates instead of any standard sugar. If carbs are an issue for you, then this cake won’t meet the grade because it has store-bought gluten-free flour and lots of dates – but if sugar and wheat are your poison, then this one’s a winner.

    The other recipe is for gluten-free brownies BUT these aren’t your run-of-the-mill, dime-a-dozen gluten-free brownies. They haven’t any corn flour, rice flour, or even coconut flour (I’ll be trying the latter in brownies soon) but the main ingredient is beans! And they are scrumptious! I know, it’s amazing. My family all gave these a huge thumbs-up…but please, shhh, do not tell them they are made with beans. šŸ˜‰ I did use a combination of standard raw sugar and stevia to sweeten these as I haven’t any coconut sugar or other healthier sugars on hand right now, but I’m sure they will turn out great with other natural sugar substitutes…except straight stevia probably wouldn’t cut it, unfortunately. šŸ˜¦

    Ideally, I would have soaked the beans, being legumes, before cooking them myself but I didn’t have any dried beans on hand, so I used canned, “Four Bean Mix” (butter beans, chickpeas, red kidney beans and white beans) just so I could try this concept out. The texture of these brownies seemed just like white wheat flour had been used! No-one could tell the difference.

    If anyone’s interested in these recipes, and seeing any photos, I can type the recipes up and try and upload the snaps.

    Next recipe I plan on trying is a chocolate cake made with quinoa. Sounds intriguing. I have plenty of quinoa on hand but will have to await the arrival of my coconut sugar for this one.

    Has anyone here tried Rapadura for a sweetener in baking? If so, how does that affect your blood-sugar and overall health and well-being compared to standard sugar (crud)?

    One final question for my fellow health-nuts on here: Do the benefits of (raw) cacao get lost when baking goods? Obviously, once cooked at high temperatures, the cacao ceases to be a raw food and the enzymes would get killed. I’m just wondering if I should save cacao for dusting goods after they’re baked and in smoothies etc, and use the organic cocoa for baking. Is there any undesirable substance added during the process of making organic cacao into organic cocoa powder?

    • OH MY GOSH PLEASE PUT UP THE RECIPES!! Hahaha. I would LOVE to give them a go, especially as I’ve been on a bit of a baking spree recently. I am also up to try a lot of different things now. Who would have thought 5 years ago that I’d be eating avocado and beans in dessert? Haha. Certainly not me!! ;-D
      Rapadura is the same as evaporated cane juice. I’ve tried it in baking and it acts the same as sugar. It’s not as healthy as coconut sugar, as its GI is around the same as regular cane sugar, however because it is less refined it contains more nutrients.
      Oh gosh, I’m really not sure about the cacao query. I tried browsing a few internet articles but can’t really come to a conclusion. It makes sense that some nutrients would be destroyed though.
      I still use cacao in raw desserts and snacks so it’s useful for that at least. Very good question though! šŸ™‚

  5. Thanks for getting back to me, Suzie! I should stick with using Coconut Sugar, then, as the Rapadura stuff I’ve been using doesn’t sweeten as well as the Coconut Sugar, though it does have a nice rich flavour.

    I will try to get around to giving you those recipes sometime, too. šŸ™‚

  6. Kelihatannya Enak!!:) Jadi ingin coba buat šŸ™‚
    The only problem is,the goji berry that is widely available here is made in china and it’s preseved with sugar which means not that”healthy”,compared to just”sun dried”I mean..

Leave a Reply

