Homemade Dry Shampoo

Image

Some mornings I just don’t have time to wash my hair…either that, or I just can’t be bothered!

When I switched to using all-natural products, one thing that I really missed was dry shampoo. I used to use the Batiste brand. It was so simple- just spray, wait a moment, comb it through and BAM! Beautiful, non-greasy hair in an instant!

I missed it so much that I decided to create my own, which I based on several recipes I found online. For me, this is the perfect solution. It is 100% natural, works as quickly and effectively as the chemical variety, and also smells great! What else could you ask for in a dry shampoo? 😉

You will need:

  • 1/4 cup corn flour/starch (preferably organic)
  • 1/4 cup cacao powder
  • 2 tablespoons arrowroot powder
  • Few drops of essential oil (rosemary for brunettes, chamomile for blondes)
  • A sifter container (I purchased mine at Spotlight)

Image

Mix the dry ingredients together and then add the essential oil. Pop it in the jar and screw on the lid. Done!

Things to note

  • For those with really fair hair, it might be a good idea to lower the amount of cacao. The opposite goes for those with darker hair
  • Make sure you comb the powder through very thoroughly- you don’t want little specks to be still visible!
  • If irritation occurs, try substituting the corn starch for rice flour
  • I find this mixture is also great at adding texture to the hair

Please give this a go and tell me what you think. I hope this saves you some time on those mornings when all you want to do is press the ‘snooze’ button on your alarm…oh wait, that’s every morning? Oh well, join the club! 😀

8 thoughts on “Homemade Dry Shampoo

  1. Great idea! This might be the perfect compliment to my No Poo routine. Thank you!
    ps. I love your blog. I instantly connected with your last 3 posts. You’ve got a follower in me 🙂

    • Oh my gosh, thank you so much!! I gotta say, your blog made me so excited because it has sooo many great ideas about how to live naturally on a budget. I can’t wait to do some more exploring!! Thanks again for your lovely comment- made my day 🙂

  2. I’m trying to cut down on using shampoo, so I’m interested in giving this a try even though I don’t have oily hair.
    I’ll let you know how it works on dry hair.

    • Hi there! It’d be GREAT if you could give this a try! Please let me know how it goes for you. I’d be interested to know how it works on drier hair.

  3. OK, I have a confession to make: I am a “No Poo” convert.

    After getting annoyed at the ingredients in all affordable shampoos and conditioners and freaking out when I saw the cost of the products I was happy to use on myself and my family (we use TONS of these products and the young children have the habit of occasionally emptying entire bottles before we can stop them), I did some internet searching for “home-made shampoo recipes” and came across the “No Poo” concept. I decided to give it a go before making up the recipe I liked the most of “Coconut oil+Castille soap+essential oils shampoo.”

    I decided to first try the simplest option, which is bicarb mixed in water for a shampoo and vinegar in water as a conditioner rinse. The bicarb I use is Al-free, BTW. Well, I first used this when my hair was totes greasy and would usually require a double shampoo. The single application of 1 tbsp bicarb mixed with 100ml of water, then a 1 tbs vinegar mixed with 100ml of water as rinse, completely cleaned my hair and left it looking and feeling just as if I had shampooed and conditioned it with my previous Organic Care products, or any other store-bought products.

    Well, my teenage daughter, who is the biggest greaseball hair-head in our family at present, who lately needs a triple shampoo to get all her hair cleaned properly, only needs ONE application of the bicarb with water, and no vinegar rinse, to get a great result! Since her hair gets so greasy, I decided to forgo the vinegar rinse, as she really doesn’t need it. Perfect.

    Seriously, if you can get Al-free bicarb at a good price, this is SO much cheaper for the same result as store-bought shamps and condish! I also use el-cheapo, generic white vinegar, as you don’t need to worry about the organic ACV and “the mother” business, since it’s only being rinsed through the ends of your hair and not touching your scalp. It is a bit fiddlier because I had to keep shaking the bicarb:water solution to keep it mixed well, and it wouldn’t come up evenly through the pump apparatus, so I had to take the cover off the bottle and pour it into my hands, but overall, it really is no big deal.

    I’ll have to get back to you after a year or so, and provided we all haven’t lost our hair and it does the job properly, indefinitely, this seems like the way to go.

    I’d love to hear from “ahappylass” about what you do as far as “No Poo,” how long you’ve been doing it, and what your results have been like.

    p.s. I also make toothpaste for the children to use (no nasties), and have a “recipe” bookmarked to make a safe laundry powder, as my next project. If they won’t make good stuff anymore, then we’ll just have to make it ourselves!!

    • WOW!! That is amazing!! I LOVE hearing about home-made alternatives to store-bought products. This sounds like it really does the job. It’s also good that you have the vinegar to balance the pH levels in the hair because on dry hair the bi-carb by itself might be too stripping. I suppose if you have really dry hair you could also add some coconut oil to the ends.
      Thank you heaps for this incredible suggestion, Queen Bee. I would LOVE to hear how it goes in the long-term (LOL “provided we all haven’t lost our hair”)
      My hair tends to be on the oily side so I am keen to try this out and see how it goes! 😀

Leave a Reply

